Arts & Events » Theater

Theater critics announce local award nominations



The Richmond Theatre Critics Circle (RTCC), made up of local theater critics including Style's Rich Griset (who chairs this year's event) and David Timberline, have announced nominations for its sixth annual "Artsies" awards.

“A lot of changes have gone on in the theater community this year, and it will be great to have everyone under one roof to catch up and celebrate achievement in the arts," says Griset. "This is the first year we’ll have two hosts, and Melissa Johnston Price and Michael Hawke are both well-known and respected faces in the theater community. It’s a really fun evening, and it’s for a good cause.”

The black-tie awards gala at 7 p.m. on Sunday, Oct. 200 at Virginia Repertory Theatre's Sara Belle and Neil November Theatre. The event will feature musical performances from each of the productions nominated for Best Musical.

Other critic voters included Julinda Lewis (Richmond Times Dispatch); Jen Maciulewicz (, John Porter (WCVE-FM). All proceeds from ticket sales will go to the Richmond Theatre Artists Fund, established to help local theater community members who have fallen on hard times.

Tickets for the formal event are $15 and can be purchased from Virginia Rep at or by calling 804-282-2620.

Here are the nominees:

Best Musical

"bare: a pop opera," Richmond Triangle Players

"La Cage aux Folles," Richmond Triangle Players

"The Music Man," Virginia Repertory Theatre

"Next to Normal," Cadence Theatre Company in partnership with Virginia Repertory Theatre

"The Producers," Virginia Repertory Theatre

Best Direction (Musical)

Justin Amellio, "bare: a pop opera"

Patti D’Beck, "The Producers"

Chase Kniffen, "Next to Normal"

John Moon, "The Music Man"

Joe Pabst, "La Cage aux Folles"

Best Actor (Musical)

Matt Beyer, "La Cage aux Folles"

Larry Cook, "The Music Man"

Duke Lafoon, "Next to Normal"

Ian Page, "bare: a pop opera"

Scott Wichmann, "The Producers"

Best Actress (Musical)

Grey Garrett, "I Love a Piano," Swift Creek Mill Theatre

Amanda Johnson, "The Music Man"

Morgan Meadows, "bare: a pop opera"

Andrea Rivette, "Next to Normal"

Debra Wagoner, "The Magic Flute," Virginia Repertory Theatre

Best Supporting Actor (Musical)

Jody Ashworth, "The Producers"

Michael Hawke, "The Producers"

John Mincks, "Next to Normal"

Ian Stearns, "Pop! Who Shot Andy Warhol?," Firehouse Theatre Project

Terence Sullivan, "Next to Normal"

Best Supporting Actress (Musical)

Kelsey Cordrey, "bare: a pop opera"

Audra Honaker, "Pop! Who Shot Andy Warhol?"

Christie Jackson, "Next to Normal"

Nicole Oberleitner, "La Cage aux Folles"

Liz Blake White, "A Child’s Christmas in Wales," Richmond Shakespeare

Best Musical Direction

Paul Deiss, "I Love a Piano"

Andrew Hamm, "A Child’s Christmas in Wales"

Kim Fox, "bare: a pop opera"

Kim Fox, "Next to Normal"

Douglas Minerd, "The Producers"

Best Choreography

Patti D’Beck, "The Producers"

Starr Foster, "Pop! Who Shot Andy Warhol?"

Nicole Oberleitner, "La Cage aux Folles"

Leslie Owens-Harrington, "The Music Man"

Best Play

"The Beauty Queen of Lenane," Henley Street Theatre

"The Comedy of Errors," Richmond Shakespeare

"Death of a Salesman," Firehouse Theatre Project

"Julius Caesar," Henley Street Theatre

"Sons of the Prophet," Cadence Theatre Company in partnership with Virginia Repertory Theatre

Best Direction (Play)

Anna Johnson, "Sons of the Prophet"

Steve Perigard, "The Comedy of Errors"

Jan Powell, "King John"

James Ricks, "Julius Caesar"

Bo Wilson, "Beauty Queen of Lenane"

Best Actor (Play)

David Bridgewater, "Red," Virginia Repertory Theatre

Deejay Gray, "Riding the Bull," TheatreLAB

David Janosik, "King John," Richmond Shakespeare

Billy Christopher Maupin, "A Bright New Boise," Firehouse Theatre Project

Joe Pabst, "Faith Healer," Henley Street Theatre

Best Actress

Maggie Bavolack, "Riding the Bull"

Mary Best Bova, "The Beauty Queen of Lenane"

Eva DeVirgilis, "The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe," Henley Street Theatre

Terry Menefee Gau, "The Glass Menagerie," Sycamore Rouge

Jill Bari Steinberg, T"he Beauty Queen of Lenane"

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Play)

Nick Aliff, "Any Given Monday," Firehouse Theatre Project

DJ Cummings, "Sons of the Prophet"

David Janeski, "The Pillowman," Henley Street Theatre

Adrian Rieder, "Death of a Salesman"

Jeffrey Schmidt, "Julius Caesar"

Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Play)

Stacie Rearden Hall, "The Pride," Richmond Triangle Players

Molly Hood, "The Comedy of Errors"

McLean Jesse, "The Glass Menagerie"

Melissa Johnston Price, "Sons of the Prophet"

Maggie Roop, "Hay Fever," Virginia Repertory Theatre

Best Ensemble Acting

"The Beauty Queen of Lenane"

"Gidion’s Knot," a Carol Piersol production

"The Glass Menagerie"

The Pillowman," Cadence Theatre Company in partnership with Virginia Repertory Theatre

"Steel Magnolias," Virginia Repertory Theatre

Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Design

Andrew Bonniwell, "Julius Caesar"

K. Jenna Ferree, "Next to Normal"

Lynne Hartman, "The Music Man"

Lynne Hartman, "Red"

Robert Perry, "Bright New Boise"

Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design

Sarah Grady, "The Music Man"

Sue Griffin, "Hound of the Baskervilles," Virginia Repertory Theatre

Thomas Hammond, "Whoop-Dee-Doo," Richmond Triangle Players

Margarette Joyner, "Julius Caesar"

D. Mark Souza, "La Cage aux Folles"

Alex Valentin, "bare: a pop opera"

Outstanding Achievement in Set Design

David Allan Ballas, "The Busy World is Hushed," Richmond Triangle Players

Tennessee Dixon, "Julius Caesar"

Jacob Sailer, "Red"

Todd Schall-Vess, "King John"

Mercedes Shaum, "Hay Fever"

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design

Derek Dumais, "Hound of the Baskervilles"

Joey Luck, "A Bright New Boise"

James Ricks, "Julius Caesar"

James Ricks, "The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe"

Brittany Simmons/Alecia Shulz, "King John"

Liz Marks Memorial Award for Ongoing Contribution to Richmond Area Theater

Tom McGranahan

Add a comment