Special/Signature Issues » ii

Previous Recipients


Previous Recipients

The Harvey Family (2006)*

Bryan, Kathryn, Stella and Ruby

L. Douglas Wilder (2005)

Mayor of Richmond

Jennie Knapp Dotts (2004)


The Young Black Male (2003)

Searching for hope

John W. Bates III (2002)

Real-estate attorney, downtown deal-maker

Gilbert M. Rosenthal (2001)


James W. Dunn (2000)

Executive director, Greater Richmond Chamber of Commerce

Jerry A. Oliver (1999)

Richmond police chief

Eugene P. Trani (1998)

President, Virginia Commonwealth


Harold M. Marsh Sr. (1997)*

Attorney and substitute judge

Paul DiPasquale and Tom Chewning (1996)

Artist, fundraiser, Arthur Ashe monument

MCV Hospitals (1995)

James and Robert Ukrop (1994)

Grocery magnates and community leaders

Nina Abady (1993)*

Director, Downtown Presents

Arthur Ashe (1992)

Humanitarian and tennis great

Marty Tapscott (1991)

New chief of police

Mary Tyler Cheek McClenahan (1990)

Civic leader

L. Douglas Wilder (1989)

Former governor and lieutenant governor

Barbara Grey (1988)

Fox School principal

Richmond Bureau of Police (1987)

Judge Robert R. Merhige Jr. (1986)

U.S. District judge

L. Douglas Wilder (1985)

Former governor and lieutenant governor

* given posthumously

  • Back to Cover Story.
  • Add a comment