Arts & Events » Music

Inside Track

This Week: Trio of Justice, Loversville, Amoeba Men and more.



For as many teams as Reggie Pace (No BS Brass Band, Fight the Big Bull), Reggie Chapman, (Glows in the Dark, Upper East Side Big Band, No BS) and Devonne Harris (Beast Wellington, Bungalo 6, Steve Carter Connexion) play on, they must have superpowers. Combining forces in Trio of Justice, formerly R2Dtoo, the trombone-sousaphone-drum collective is capable of fighting off musical enemies with off-kilter, bombastic grooves guided by tight melodies. The Trio leads off the second annual RVAJazzfest on Feb. 6 at the Camel, which also features world-renowned saxophonist Tim Berne sitting in with local prog-jazz quartet Ombak and jazz guitarist and Virginia Commonwealth University professor Adam Larrabee's Trio interpreting music from Ellington, Mingus and Roach's “Money Jungle” album.

Pace has chosen a different weapon for neo-roots outfit the Moonbees. He picks up the bass and contributes vocals alongside guitarists Clifton McDaniel and Gabe Churray of iLad and Bryce McClellan of Hi I'm Bryce, plus drummer Brian Wiltz (El Zombie, Botox Party). The Moonbees, which started out as McDaniel's solo project Brickman, should have their debut record, “Everything Is Simple, Everything Is Complicated,” out by early spring. You can see them before they get huge at the Black Hand on Jan. 21. McDaniel also sends word that iLad has not one but two new albums in the works this year.

Without her sister Octavia Winfield in the band, rhythm guitarist and vocalist Cassandra Cossitt says Buttercup just couldn't be Buttercup. So the band's updated its format a bit, moving toward mid-'60s electric country, and renamed itself Loversville. The streamlined lineup still includes Mike Tighe (Big Posse) on fiddle and pedal steel, Dave Stover (the Prevaricators, L'Amour) on drums and John Hanor, also of surf-rockers 3rd Wave, moving to bass. Stroll on down to see Loversville on Feb. 5 at Ellwood's Coffee.

The new album from spacey folk-rock band the Thirds, which we reported on a few months back, is in the bag. “Silverlight,” the follow-up to 2006's “Planet of Me,” will be released Jan. 22 at Gallery5. Cubscout and the Rhinoceros and Poly will share the bill.

First it was the Slits. Then, it was Converge. Now the Amoeba Men, whose latest offering, “Worried About Your Wiring?” is out on CNP Records, will have another new audience to incite with their experimental noise rock. They open for post-punk legends Mission of Burma on Feb. 19 at the University of Richmond.

Honing their R&B-inspired pop on the East Coast live circuit for past year or so, Jared Jones and Lust Not Love finally have laid those hooks down on tape. The new six-song, self-titled EP was written, arranged and produced by guitarist and vocalist Jones (Fabled Automatic, M-Unit) and recorded at both In Your Ear and Minimum Wage studios. The band is comprised of Dane Magoon (Fabled Automatic, the Dirty Truth) on bass, gospel musician Ricky Cokes on drums, and Grayland Snead and Michael Congdon on keys. A free copy of the EP is included in the ticket price for the release show Jan. 29 at the National. Openers include acoustic-pop acts the Jim Ivins Band, whose latest EP, “Back to Reality,” was recorded with Ace Enders of The Early November, and the Danny O'Hanley Band, which also has a new EP called “This Time.”

As if their last band, Jefferson Planecrash, wasn't loud or fast enough, bassist Joe Kerkes and drummer Nathaniel Roseberry decided to up the ante with guitarist Eric Clater from Gutter Slut to form Street Pizza. With a vicious triple-vocal attack over thrashing hardcore, Street Pizza hopes to have its EP, recorded with Garrett Morris of Windhand, out in time to fire up your winter house shows.

Inside Track is compiled by Mike Rutz of “Activate!” on WRIR 97.3-FM.

Add a comment