Duke Ellington's Sophisticated Ladies

Rated NR 108 min. 2013

Recently restored and remastered tapes of the 1981 Tony winning musical exhibited on the big screen for the first time. The historic first live-in-performance capture of a currently running Broadway musical will be presented in remastered in 5.1 surround sound. The production features the Duke Ellington Orchestra under the direction of Mercer Ellington and a knockout cast including Phyllis Hyman and Hinton Battle. An all-star score celebrates the Duke with "Take the "A" Train", "I'm Beginning to See the Light", "Hit Me With a Hot Note and Watch Me Bounce", "It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)", In a Sentimental Mood", "Sophisticated Lady", "Don't Get Around Much Anymore" and "Satin Doll" among many others.

Film Credits

Director: Michael Smuin and Clark Jones

Cast: Mercer Ellington, Phyllis Hyman, Hinton Battle, Paula Kelly and Greg Burge

Show Times

Sorry there are no upcoming showtimes for Duke Ellington's Sophisticated Ladies

Add a review


Select a star to rate.